Friday, May 23, 2014

Crown Prince Haakon presents the Abel Prize.

Photo: Jon Olav Nesvold. NTB scanpix
On 20 May, Crown Prince Haakon presented the Abel Prize for 2014 to Yakov G. Sinai for scientific excellence in the field of mathematics.
Yakov G. Sinai is one of the most influential mathematicians of the 20th century. He has achieved numerous groundbreaking results in the theory of dynamical systems, mathematical physics and probability theory.  
The formal award ceremony was held at the Aula of the University of Oslo on 19 May. Professor Nils Christian Stenseth gave the opening remarks on behalf of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters.
Photo: Jon Olav Nesvold. NTB scanpix
The Chair of the Abel Committee, Professor Ragni Piene, read the committee’s citation. Professor Sinai then took the stage with Crown Prince Haakon to receive the Abel Prize. After the Crown Prince returned to his seat, the laureate held a speech, which was followed by a performance of the musical work “Baroque Bach Mountain”.
Earlier in the day Crown Prince Haakon granted the Abel Laureate audience at the Royal Palace.

0 comentarios:

Post a Comment